Best Divorce Lawyers in Lincoln

Contact Us

Please fill out the form below and our attorney will contact you.

!
!
!

Our Office

  • Lincoln Office

    Address

    610 J Street
    Suite 220
    Lincoln, Nebraska 68508

    Phone

    402-817-1450

Martindale Awards

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Martindale Ratings

Average Peer Rating

4.4/5.0

Average Client Rating

100% client recommended

Reviews (50)

Site Rating Reviews by date
5.0 / 5.0
2021-02-24

Deziree Medina worked on our case for Guardianship of our son when he turned 19. He is autistic. She was wonderful to work with, always prompt with getting us information and answers to our questions. She was very helpful threw the whole process and always easy to understand what legal work she was doing or what she needed from us.

— Client 02/24/2021

5.0 / 5.0
2020-08-09

Vanessa was incredible in my custody battle! I hired her based on other reviews and I’m so glad I did. She listened to every concern or question I had and got back to me within the same day. This was probably the most stressful situation in my life but she walked me through every step, process and expectations throughout the entire case. She took so much stress off of me. We won the case and the judge didn’t Reward my ex anything he had asked for, she was just as ecstatic as I was when we got the news! Choosing a great attorney through such a stressful time is the last thing you should have to worry about. Vanessa is a great choice and will fight as hard as she can for you!!!

— Client 08/09/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-12

Ms Gorden was very professional from the very beginning. She listened to my concerns and problems and tried to address those. She was recommended by a friend and I was not disappointed.

— Client 05/12/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-29

This was the best experience I've ever had working with an attorney. Usually I'm disappointed with lawyers. However, Vanessa provided superior service. She was responsive and answered all of our questions. I would highly recommend Gordon Law Firm.

— Client 04/29/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-29

Vanessa was very responsive. I've never received this level of service from an attorney. She was prompt and thorough in answering our questions. I would recommend Vanessa and Gordon Law to anyone wanting outstanding service.

— Client 04/29/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-23 14:55:25

Vanessa is a gifted litigator. She is always prepared and is an excellent advocate for her clients.

— Peer 04/23/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-10 06:54:28

very ethical. Takes her profession seriously and strives to represent her clients to get the best outcome. Not just an a legal expert but also a counselor that wants to understand her clients desires. Very respectful to other attorneys and the legal profession as a whole. I give her excellent ratings overall.

— Peer 04/10/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-10 06:23:39

No description provided

— Peer 04/10/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-07 08:58:56

No description provided

— Peer 04/07/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-04-03 08:16:03

I practiced with Vanessa for many years. She always exhibited the highest of ethical standards and the utmost dedication to her clients. She is definitely an attorney who truly cares about her clients and obtaining the best outcomes for them. I witnessed Vanessa consistently exercise excellent judgment and utilize her strong analytical capabilities.

— Peer 04/03/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-30 14:26:12

No description provided

— Peer 03/30/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-03-28 08:05:27

Vanessa is an excellent attorney. I have always found her to be very honest, reasonable, and straightforward. In addition, she cares about her clients and works hard to move cases forward and get things done.

— Peer 03/28/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2019-12-06

I hired Vanessa to come into a long-standing case at its worst. Vanessa has done an outstanding job and provided the highest level of service at every point with complete honesty and ethics. I highly recommend her

— Client 12/06/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-06-20

Deziree was a excellent attorney. So thankful I found a good one. Quick to answer emails and get back to me. She was very detailed with my modification of my parenting plan. Made everything clear and cut and fixed all the grey areas that were a problem. She was very honest in what she thought and I all around highly recommend her.

— Client 06/20/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-04-10

I had been through court years prior with a different lawyer, and things ended with me having every other weekend visits, so obviously our nerves were high during our initial consultation. However, Vanessa talked to my wife and I like we were human beings and that she wanted to help us. Vanessa and my family knew this was going to be a long, hard, and complicated fight, but she was ready for it and she made sure that we were ready also. Vanessa always gave us straight answers, especially to the hard questions. Hearings got continued multiple times and we had to keep taking the other side back to court. Status hearing after status hearing, trial date after trial date, Vanessa kept our hopes high. Vanessa dealt with a lot, not only from the other side, but also from us. We took a lot out on her, whether it be frantic emails in the middle of the night or asking her to call us on the weekend but she always had a calm and empathetic demeanor. During hearings Vanessa always stayed very professional but also made sure to hit every hard point to make sure things went our way. Vanessa did a lot of her own digging and made sure to investigate the other party very thoroughly while also using any information I supplied. Vanessa was always available through email and she always responded very quickly. I know that she will always be there if we need her again. I wish my family would have chose her in the beginning of my custody fight 4 years ago. I finally have full custody of my daughter thanks to Vanessa. My child and I are eternally grateful for her services and I will always recommend Vanessa Gorden, she is priceless.

— Client 04/10/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2018-07-11

I would recommend this lawyer to anyone. She does what she says she will do and gets results. Honestly worth every penny you spend.

— Client 07/11/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2017-12-28

Vanessa did a great job from the beginning explaining what was possible, and what was not. She gave clear expectations on what was needed to build a successful case, and followed through with reminders. She tackled unexpected problems immediately, and was always professional with me and with the other party's attorney. There was a mutual respect which was an advantage when negotiating with the other attorney. Vanessa was wonderful to work with, handled the case successfully and was kind enough to work out a payment arrangement. Her fees were comparable to other attorneys, but her personal attention set her apart. She always responded quickly and thoroughly to emails.

— Client 12/28/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-08-19

Vanessa Gordon did an excellent job of representing me in my custody case. I had a very complicated case involving multi state jurisdictions, and she was able to handle it perfectly. She always very promptly responded to my e-mails and left me updated on the process. The judge even complemented her on presenting a very complicated case in a very understandable and comprehensive way. I would highly recommend Vanessa Gordon to anyone in need of legal representation in any kind of family court case.

— Client 08/19/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-08-13

Responded quickly and very concisely to my question. I get the feeling she is an excellent attorney that cares.

— Client 08/13/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-05-13

I contacted Vanessa for a consultation for my child custody case. We both knew going in to this particular case that it would be a long and tedious one. However, Vanessa has been a wonderful lawyer to represent me. She is always quick to respond to emails, which alleviated a lot of stress at times when the other party was being very difficult to work with and I had questions. Vanessa has advised and guided me through what most families find to be the most difficult of issues. Vanessa has always treated MY case as if this were her own family. I absolutely will, and have, recommend Vanessa Gorden for anyone seeking a Family Law Lawyer.

— Client 05/13/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-05-11

Each time I have used Vanessa's law firm, she has been extremely helpful in explaining my options and helping me choose what was best for my children and me. I would not hesitate to go to her again, or to recommend her to others!

— Client 05/11/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-03-16

May not have always seen eye to eye but no matter the request she never gave up and was professional determined and produced positive results. Couldnt be happier

— Client 03/16/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-03-09

Hired Vanessa Gordon after a previos lawyer completely messed up my case. She did amazing at getting things back on track. She is very professional. Definitely recommend her!

— Client 03/09/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2016-12-13

This was my first experience using a lawyer and I feel that Vanessa Gorden made it a good experience. She was easy to work with and explained things so that I understood them. Her office provided digital copies of the documents so that I could read them right away and it was more convenient. Billing was clear and easy to understand. Any questions I had were answered quickly.

— Client 12/13/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-12-06

Very good at what she does. Everything was a breeze. Helped me exactly as I needed. Would recommend in a heart beat. Ami the receptionist is great also. Anytime I called I was greated by name.

— Client 12/06/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-03-17

Vanessa is such an amazing lawyer! She was quick to respond to me with any and all answers I needed. She worked hard and was always on top of things. I recommend her to anyone seeking a family lawyer!

— Client 03/17/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-02-24

Vanessa and her staff are wonderful! Everyone in her office was very friendly and knowledgeable. They all had my best interest and my son's best interest in mind. Their use of technology is also wonderful as it allowed me to handle issues related to my case on my schedule and not have to take as much time off work to come into the office. I would highly recommend them and will be using them for any future legal needs that may arrise.

— Client 02/24/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2015-10-31

Vanessa and her staff were very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about divorce proceedings. They helped me get exactly what I needed.

— Client 10/31/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-10-03

Vanessa isn't just a good lawyer she is a great one. She is very dedicated to her job and her clients. She was able to get my husband full custody of my step daughter. Since the minute we hired her she was on her A game and always kept us up to date with any info, always quick to reply to emails and questions. Her whole law firm staff is great I would recommend her to anyone looking for an honest excellent lawyer who you would want to handle your legal matter with full care and dedication. The type of lawyer who will do her best in your matter

— Client 10/03/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-08-12

Vanessa and her Firm were will to answer all of my questions quickly and proficiently. She was reassuring and supportive throughout the legal process. I would highly recommend her for Divorce issues.

— Client 08/12/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-04-11

I would highly recommend Vanessa to anyone needing help/guidance with family law issues. She's honest, knowledgeable and always accessible via email. She responds immediately to questions or concerns. If she doesn't know the answer, she can refer to someone who can help. She's very down to earth and cares about helping people. I have encountered attorneys that are the opposite; so I was immediately put at ease, upon first meeting her. I was nervous about being judged and shamed to be in the situation I was in. She immediately put my doubts to rest.

— Client 04/11/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2014-11-24

Vanessa and those who work with her are amazing. They took great care to explain what was going on and what was coming next. I never had to worry about the process or wonder what was happening. Vanessa really communicated clearly and regularly.

— Client 11/24/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-11-06

I retained Vanessa Gorden for a complicated and emotionally difficult family law case. She was thorough, organized and well studied from start to finish. Vanessa is seriously respected by those involved in the courts and the legal system. Plus......she wins!!

— Client 11/06/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-08-12

Vanessa was my lawyer for a child custody case. Because of misconduct on the mother, I had the chance to get both physical and legal custody. I am not in Nebraska so I had to have a lawyer there to handle the case. I searched around several places on the net ( including AVVO ) to find a lawyer that handled family law. I also could not afford to post a large retainer as some of the lawyers require. I contacted Vanessa and she agreed to handle the case. The old adage "you get what you pay for" does not apply here. Vanessa's expertise, knowledge and her abilities in court were worth much more than she charges. Seeing the difference between Vanessa and some of the other lawyers in action really emphasized the difference. Hopefully I will no longer need a family lawyer in Nebraska again, but if I do, I would consider another attorney ONLY if Vanessa is not available.

— Client 08/12/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-07-02

Working with Vanessa was a great experience! She is extremely knowledgeable and professional. She is also organized and followed through with all of her commitments for my case. For me, that was a HUGE positive. I have worked with other lawyers who were not as dedicated and organize and they proved to be bad experiences. I would definitely work with Vanessa again!

— Client 07/02/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-04-08

I was very impressed with Vanessas level of professionalism and I was happy with the level of respect and compassion concerning my case.

— Client 04/08/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2013-12-12

Great choice. Efficient, responsive, timely and knowledgable. Hope to never need to hire again but would choose her in a heartbeat!

— Client 12/12/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-08-25

I felt completely hopeless before I met Vanessa. I have had plenty of lawyers for my daughter custody and child support. She really listened to me and helped me win my case. The past I never knew what all the laws and regulations. She explained them and helped me fight for what we were entitled to. She has been my lawyer for three years and always is available when I need her services!

— Client 08/25/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-08-23

I have hired Vanessa three times, in a period of 3 years, for child custody, child support and contempt for the same child. While her father went through different lawyers, I knew I had the most dedicated and knowledgeable attorney already on my team. My custody cases were drawn out and complicated by my ex but Vanessa was always two steps ahead of him. In all my cases, custody and child support, I won exactly what I wanted by a long shot that was also in my child's best interest. I am not wealthy by any means and Vanessa always worked with me on payments that were doable for me. I'm sure my ex will eventually think he can come back to court for nonsense and Vanessa will be the first phone call I make.

— Client 08/23/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-06-04

Vanessa Gorden is an outstanding lawyer and I really enjoyed working with her. She made things easy to understand and set a reasonable timetable on what to expect. She was professional and helped me to reach a fair deal in regards to custody and child support with my ex spouse. I have already referred her to two other people and will be the first name I give when anyone needs legal advice. Any questions I had were answered quickly and she utilizes e-mail for faster and cheaper responses. Anyone who needs a guide through the tumultuous ordeal of divorce should look no further.

— Client 06/04/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-06-01

If I ever had any questions, they were answered in a prompt manner and if she didn't know she made sure she found out. She spent much time and energy in my case and was so very helpful. She used any documentation I had supplied in court and was very organized.

— Client 06/01/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-05-10

The first time I hired Vanessa Gorden, in 2010, it was to handle my divorce / child custody case, and I simply cannot say enough good about things about her. Succinctly put, she was amazing, start to finish. I was so impressed with her services that, two years later, when I needed to go to court again in order to adjust child support and visitation, I immediately went to her to handle that case as well. I didn't want anyone else. One of the biggest things that sets Vanessa Gorden apart, I think, is the balance she's able to maintain between perfect professionalism and personal rapport. At our first meeting, her manner put me at ease right away. She made me feel completely comfortable and--more important--completely SAFE, both in the sense that I was able to let my guard down about certain sensitive details regarding my situation and in that I never, from that first meeting on, experienced even a single, isolated moment of doubt as to whether my children's and my interests would be 100% protected under the law. The second time I went to Ms. Gorden for help, I found her services to be consistent with my experiences the first time she had agreed to work with me. In both cases, she tailored virtually every step of the process to fit my personal needs and legal goals, whether it concerned her fee, our meetings, court scheduling, or even the specific wording of the documents to be sent to the opposing party. She had a way of making me feel completely taken care of and yet completely in control throughout the entire process (a quality which the control freak in me fully appreciated!) Vanessa Gorden made it possible for my children and me to reclaim our lives. We needed a tiger to take our place on the front line, and she leaped into that role with focused fervor. I absolutely and unhesitatingly recommend her services.

— Client 05/10/2013

4.8 / 5.0
2020-03-28 07:26:28

No description provided

— Peer 03/28/2020

4.6 / 5.0
2020-04-02 18:10:22

No description provided

— Peer 04/02/2020

4.4 / 5.0
2020-04-02 16:10:10

No description provided

— Peer 04/02/2020

4.0 / 5.0
2020-03-28 08:15:26

No description provided

— Peer 03/28/2020

4.0 / 5.0
2020-01-20

I recommend Vanessa as a lawyer. She’s very good and explains everything into detail. I will continue to have her as my lawyer.

— Client 01/20/2020

3.8 / 5.0
2020-04-03 06:15:36

No description provided

— Peer 04/03/2020

3.0 / 5.0
2013-03-26 17:06:23

No description provided

— Peer 03/26/2013

2.6 / 5.0
2020-03-28 06:28:50

No description provided

— Peer 03/28/2020